PLE Diagram and Reflection

PLE Drawing.jpg

Life is a highway as it’s been often said. Throughout my life I have lived in Ohio, Florida, Idaho, and Georgia. Every time I moved from one state to another I had to drive, so I’ve spent a lot of time o highways traveling to a new chapter in my life which has shaped my life by the experiences I’ve had and the people I have met. My PLE is much like my travels through life. The resources I choose to use, the communities I join, and the people I connect with all help shape and expand my professional knowledge.
My PLE diagram is represented by a circular highway with exit ramps to each of the areas that make up my PLE as well as on ramps to get back on the highway to go to a different component of the PLE. There are also short cuts to get across the highway faster and to better connection each area of the PLE . I feel that having a well connected PLE is important to ensure that it is as effective as it can be. In the create section I have a couple of resources that help me to share my ideas and receive comments and feedback. In the collaborate section I have tools that allow me to work with other educators to share ideas and work on projects. Moving around the highway further we come to communication. These are all the resources that allow me to communicate with other educators. If you will notice, there are a couple of resources that were in the collaborate area. I think it’s important to recognize the different uses that any tool can be put to. Twitter and Skype both allow for communication and collaboration. This area also includes the learning communities where I can share information and discuss topics and issues that are important to me in education. Lastly I have the collect are, which is where I gather resources and information. These tools make collection of information easy and also allow me to create my own collections in areas that I focused on. Just as life has taken me many places, my PLE will do the same thing. How I use my tools and resources will shape my professional experiences and create my professional identity.

Comparative analysis

Lindsay Hoyt: Lindsay had three of the same categories as I did on my diagram, but she also included reflect and curate in her representation. Some of the resources included on her representation I am unfamiliar with, which I think I need to remedy as they may be resources I would like to use. I found it interesting that Diigo was included in the curation section. I had not thought of this tool as a curation tool, but I definitely so how it can be used for that.

Katelyn Griffin: Kaelyn and I have similar content in our PLE diagrams in that we have collect, create, and connect. Katelyn chose share instead of collaboration for her diagram, but in many ways I view that as similar to collaborate. We have similar resources in the areas that we have in common and just as was the case with Lindsay’s diagram, there are symbols I am unfamiliar with in Katelyn’s diagram.

Ariana Pyburn: Ariana and I have the same categories in our diagrams. I included some additional resources in my collaborate section. Ariana has an additional resource in her collect section that I do not have. I need to ask her what that is. This was one of the reasons I wrote the names of my resources on my diagram instead of the symbols (also I’m not a very good artist). I agree with the placement of all of the tools as they are where I would expect them to be.

Kathleen Johnson: The first thing I noticed right away is the inclusion of publishing as one of the categories, which I really like. I don’t recognize the symbols on the publishing category so I will need to find out what those are, but I feel like this gives a more professional feel to the PLE. The connecting section on both of our diagrams and all three of her resources are included in my connecting section.

Natalie Burr: Natalie’s PLE diagram contains three out of four of the same categories as my PLE diagram. The fourth category is different as Natalie included curate and I included collect, which really are very similar. After additional thought, curate may be a better choice as it indicates collecting and sharing information. Once again I see resources listed that I am not familiar with, which I love as it gives me another opportunity to possibly expand my resources. I love that you included SeeSaw in the collaborate section as it’s such a great app.

Kayden Tague: Kayden includes two of the same categories I included in my PLE diagram and two different categories. She included curate and share, while I included collect and collaborate. I found the inclusion of the camera for the create section interesting. Everybody who has a cell phone or tablet has one, but I think I sometimes take for granted how useful a tool it can be. Many of the tools Kayden did include are similar to mine, such as, YouTube, Twitter, Facebook, Google, Diigo, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

